Academic

Research

Research at the

heart of our school

The school allows you to carry out projects that will enhance your professional training and promote the energy and digital transition as well as the evolution towards the companies of tomorrow.  Applied research builds and strengthens links with our partner companies by responding to their problems and offering them an engineering resource centre.

A FLAGSHIP ACTIVITY AT ECAM STRASBOURG-EUROPE

Value-creating research

Fundamental research consists of experimental or theoretical work undertaken mainly with a view to acquiring new knowledge about the foundations of phenomena and observable facts, without considering any particular application or use.  ECAM Strasbourg-Europe’s teacher-researchers carry out their basic research work mainly within the ICube laboratory’s host teams.

 Applied research consists of original work with a specific practical aim or objective. Applied research is carried out on the school’s technical facilities.

 

 

AN EXCELLENT PARTNER

The ICube laboratory

Our research activities are carried out in the ICube laboratory, which was created in 2013 in Strasbourg. It brings together two scientific communities at the crossroads of the digital and physical worlds, thus giving the laboratory a unique configuration.

 

With nearly 650 members, the ICube laboratory is a major research force in Strasbourg. With its focus on imaging, ICube’s main fields of application are engineering for health, the environment and sustainable development.

Academic research is carried out by the school’s teacher-researchers at the ICube laboratory in the following host teams

 

Our research activities are carried out in the ICube laboratory, which was created in 2013 in Strasbourg. It brings together two scientific communities at the crossroads of the digital and physical worlds, thus giving the laboratory a unique configuration.

 

  • Team IPP :
    Instrumentation and Photonic Processes
  • Team MMB :
    Multi-scale Materials and Biomechanics
  • MLMS Team :
    Machine Learning, Modelling & Simulation
  • Team CSTB :
    Complex Systems, Translational Bioinformatics
  • Team CEE :
    Civil and Energy Engineering
  • Team HSM :
    Heterogeneous Systems and Microsystems
  • Team IMLGS :
    Images, Modelling, Learning, Geometry and Statistics

The research activities are steered by a Scientific Council chaired by Professor Michel de Mathelin, Director of the ICube laboratory and First Vice-President, Development and Relations with the Socio-Economic World of the University of Strasbourg. This Scientific Council brings together our academic, institutional and industrial partners in order to give strategic directions to the development of research.

 

Research at ECAM Strasbourg-Europe is carried out in permanent interaction with various partners in the region, such as

 

  • The ICube laboratory,
  • The University of Strasbourg,
  • Competitiveness clusters (The Fibres-Energivie Competitiveness Cluster, the  Cluster Pôle Véhicule du Futur  and the Institut Carnot Télécom & Société Numérique),
  • companies in the Grand-Est region, with a view to research work.

 

The ECAM Group’s research teams regularly work together to share knowledge and teaching content.

 

ECAM Strasbourg-Europe is labeled Hcéres

A VARIETY OF RESEARCH AREAS

At the forefront of innovation

Mechanics of heterogeneous materials

A heterogeneous material is composed of different types of constituents. The mechanics of heterogeneous materials is used to characterise the properties of each constituent in the actual behaviour of the final material. The fields of application are numerous, such as the automotive, aerospace and medical industries.

Projects 

Study of composite materials to ensure the absorption of deformation energy during an impact

The objective of this research topic is to determine the properties of a material so that it can deform correctly to absorb the deformation energy during an impact and not transmit it to the users of a vehicle. For this purpose, the microstructure of the material is analysed as well as its constituents, phases, orientation and properties.

Tibial Valgisation Osteotomy

Some people are born with bow legs, called “cowboy legs” by doctors. This is a malformation, a misalignment of the knee bone. The weight of the body no longer rests correctly on the axis of the knee, which can lead to severe pain and arthritis. Surgery may be necessary. The surgeon cuts the tibia, makes the angular correction and inserts a bone substitute, which is tightened and consolidated with titanium screws. It turns out that in 20% of cases, this operation fails due to cracking of the hinge. The hinge is fundamental in the regeneration and consolidation process of the bone. This research project consists of using fracture mechanics tools to analyse and numerically predict the evolution of crack propagation in the hinge.

 

Wiyao Azoti

Teacher-Researcher

ICube team: Multiscale Materials and Biomechanics (MMB)

Engineer in Mechanical Engineering. Doctor in Materials Science.

.

Solar energy for buildings

This research area consists of modelling solar collectors in order to optimise them. The models take into account all heat transfers and influencing parameters. Then, optimisation algorithms are used to obtain the ideal characteristics of the solar panels according to the objectives: maximising the production of the panel over a season or over a year, coupling the production to another energy system, adapting to the geographical situation, etc.

Project 

CapSol-PV/T

The objective is to set up a platform to characterise hybrid solar collectors (photovoltaic – thermal / hybrid). It thus allows the experimental validation of results from numerical optimisations.

Applied to buildings, this residential solution simultaneously produces electrical and thermal energy. In the near future, this project will also allow the design and experimental validation of new hybrid solar technologies.

 

Sébastien Mey-Cloutier

Teacher-Researcher

Team : Civil and Energy Engineering (CEE)

Engineer in Energy Engineering. Doctor in Heat Transfer Physics.

Light-matter interaction - laser machining process

There are many fields of application for light-matter interaction, such as the study of optical properties, the development of photonic instrumentation and the development of laser machining processes. For the latter, research is being carried out to adapt and optimise ultra-short pulse laser welding techniques and continuous laser sintering.

Project

Development of an additive manufacturing process by Selected Laser Melting of lunar dust simulant

Destination Moon! But before we can live on the Moon, we need to design habitats by optimising the use of resources already present there, such as lunar dust called regolith. This research project focuses on the development of a laser sintering process for a lunar dust simulant to make building bricks. These bricks will be deployed to protect the lunar habitat from radiation, micrometeorites and temperature variations.

 

Grégoire Chabrol

Lecturer and Research Director

ICube team: Instrumentation and Photonic Processes (IPP)

Doctor in photonics

Imaging - neural networks

Neural networks are used in several application areas such as image processing and analysis and geometric modelling.

Projects

Geometric modelling by sketching

The objective of this research project is to create an automatic system that allows the generation of 3D models from a 2D drawing. For this purpose, several methods have been implemented. The one producing the best results consists of re-expressing the 3D modelling problem in the form of a quadratic optimisation problem subject to constraints, the resolution of which will correspond to the 3D object desired by the user.

Behavioural modelling of a 3D printer

The objective of this research work is to set up a preventive analysis process aimed at automatically detecting anomalies that may occur during 3D printing. To do this, cameras are used to monitor the live printing process as well as environmental sensors. The latter will provide a set of data that will be processed using Artificial Intelligence.

 

Cédric Bonbenrieth

Teacher-Researcher

ICube team: Machine Learning, Modelling & Simulation (MLMS)

Biomechanics

“Biomechanics is the exploration of the mechanical properties of living organisms as well as the analysis of the engineering principles that make biological systems work”

 

Project

Development and characterisation of an instrumented wrist prosthesis

This project aims to validate the concept of iso-elasticity for wrist prostheses. These prostheses have the particularity of being more flexible than traditional prostheses. Subsequently, a more precise digital model will be developed from forearm scans. The image reconstruction will make it possible to obtain an almost real geometry of a radius and a wrist prosthesis. In parallel, an experimental device will be developed in which the prosthesis and a bone, whether artificial or not, will be positioned in order to carry out tests and validate the digital simulation. In the long term, this will make it possible to develop a prosthesis with sensors and to obtain local monitoring of certain information, in particular the bone-prosthesis interface.

 

Samuel Berthe

PhD student

ICube team: Multiscale Materials and Biomechanics (MMB)

Engineer in Mechanical Engineering

Structural Mechanics

There are several fields of application for structural mechanics, such as :

1/ Finite element simulation of mechanical structures (metallic structures and biological tissues)

The aim is to determine the mechanical behaviour of structures using simulation software, which is less expensive than experimental tests. However, for some mechanical problems, the behaviour cannot be studied with existing software, it is then necessary to develop own codes of resolution using programming languages.

2/  Damping and vibration control of structures

The vibrations that occur in on-board structures such as rotating machines are a source of noise, wear and tear on parts and breakage. The objective of this research work is to develop damping devices to reduce the amplitude of vibrations by integrating multifunctional intelligent materials (viscoelastic, piezoelectric, electro-rheological or magneto-rheological).

Projects 

Development of a generic code for calculating the vibration properties of 3-layer composites: application to automotive windscreens

In general, a car windscreen consists of 3 layers; 2 elastic glass layers and a central viscoelastic polymer layer. The viscoelastic layer has the function of providing damping to the structure. For manufacturers, it is important to select the right damping materials. The objective of this project is to provide manufacturers with a numerical tool that allows them to simulate the behaviour of the windscreen under vibration in order to determine which of the materials that can be used offers optimum damping. This numerical tool takes as input data the dimensions of the windscreen and the mechanical characteristics of the constituent layers. The calculation will determine the resonance frequency and the damping factors.

2D finite element modelling of shear wave propagation in biological tissues

This project is part of magnetic resonance elastography, a virtual palpation technique used in the medical field. In general, when a biological tissue contains a pathology (e.g. a tumour), we try to localise its location. To do this, shear waves are propagated through the organ using an electrodynamic exciter. The propagated waves are measured by magnetic resonance imaging. Since the mechanical properties of healthy tissue are different from those of damaged tissue, it is possible to locate the tumour by measuring the waves. The propagation of a wave in a medium represents a displacement field that depends on the mechanical properties of the medium and can be reconstructed by a numerical model.

Design and simulation of a dynamic absorber toolholder incorporating a magnetorheological fluid

The vibrations that occur during machining operations result from the repetitive passage of the tool’s cutting edges over the workpiece. These vibrations can cause insert wear, part non-conformity and poor surface finish. To overcome this problem, there are toolholders with integrated dynamic absorbers. These toolholders include a flyweight within them and are housed in seals. The vibration energy of the toolholder is then transferred to the flyweight, which dissipates it by heat in the seals. The seals in the cutter head wear out regularly and this causes the device to malfunction. To adjust the damping level, a magnetorheological fluid is used to replace the seals. The viscosity of this fluid can be controlled by means of a magnetic field. The objective of this research project is to design and analyse the dynamic behaviour of a “semi-active” turning bar incorporating the magnetorheological fluid in order to establish its anti-vibration performance and range of effectiveness.

 

Marcelin Bilasse

Teacher-Researcher

ICube team: Multiscale Materials and Biomechanics (MMB)

Doctorate in Mechanics and Energetics

Image processing with Artificial Intelligence (AI)

Image processing allows the classification of images by analysing the information present on them. For example, this allows images with objects to be classified with other images without objects. A segmentation is then performed by Artificial Intelligence (AI) to extract photometric and geometric characteristics and to detect objects.

Project

Detection of fine objects in images

The objective of this project is to be able to automatically and accurately detect cracks on roads using image processing. The perspective of this work is to apply Artificial Intelligence for the detection of cracks on all types of surfaces through algorithms. It will be possible for intelligent cars to detect cracks on roads and avoid accidents.

 

Rabih Ahmaz

Teacher-Researcher

ICube team: Complex systems and translational bioinformatics (CSTB)

Telecommunications, Signals and Circuits Engineer. Doctor in Image Processing

Blockchain technology

Blockchain is a technology for storing and transmitting information, which is transparent, secured, and operates without a central controlling body. Today, Blockchain technology faces a limit in speed and mass data storage on blockchain networks.

Project 

Backup of files on a blockchain network

On a blockchain network, the problem is to save data in mass. Today, blockchain technology can back up 22MB in 14 seconds. To save an image of 350mo it takes 4 minutes. The objective of this project is to improve this technology as we go along and to apply this improvement to a blockchain that brings together medical centres. The mission of this project is to increase interoperability between doctors, medical centres and laboratories with a decentralised and secure data storage system. Connected objects such as watches can gradually be added to the system.

 

Rabih Ahmaz

Teacher-Researcher

ICube team: Complex systems and translational bioinformatics (CSTB)

Telecommunications, Signals and Circuits Engineer. Doctor in Image Processing

We have succeeded in developing a research activity specific to the school and its local ecosystem in order to respond today to the challenges that companies will face tomorrow. Research at ECAM Strasbourg-Europe is built around the skills provided by each of our teacher-researchers. Our ambition is to be able to explore and push current knowledge further, to apply it and to transmit it. 

Grégoire Chabrol - Director of Research

Recherche
académique

La recherche au
cœur de notre école

Créatrice de valeur pour la formation initiale et professionnelle, elle permet de mener des projets qui favorisent la transition énergétique et numérique ainsi que l’évolution vers l’Entreprise du Futur. La recherche appliquée construit et renforce les liens avec nos entreprises partenaires en répondant à leurs problématiques et en leur proposant un centre de ressources en ingénierie.

Une activité phare à l’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe

La recherche créatrice de valeur

La recherche fondamentale consiste en des travaux expérimentaux ou théoriques entrepris principalement en vue d’acquérir de nouvelles connaissances sur les fondements des phénomènes et des faits observables, sans envisager une application ou une utilisation particulière.  Les enseignants-chercheurs de l’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe réalisent leurs travaux de recherche fondamentale principalement au sein des équipes d’accueil du laboratoire ICube.

 

La recherche appliquée consiste en des travaux originaux dans un but ou un objectif pratique déterminé. Les travaux de recherche appliquée s’effectuent sur les plateaux techniques de l’école.

 

 

Un partenaire d'excellence

Le laboratoire ICube

Nos activités de recherche s’effectuent dans le laboratoire ICube, né en 2013 à Strasbourg. Il rassemble deux communautés scientifiques au croisement du monde numérique et du monde physique, lui donnant ainsi une configuration unique.

 

Avec près de 650 membres, il est une force de recherche majeure à Strasbourg. Fédéré par l’imagerie, ICube a comme champs d’application privilégiés l’ingénierie pour la santé, l’environnement et le développement durable.

 

La recherche académique est menée par les enseignants-chercheurs de l’école au laboratoire ICube dans les équipes d’accueil suivantes :

 

  • Équipe IPP : Instrumentation et Procédés Photoniques
  • Équipe MMB : Matériaux Multi échelles et Biomécanique
  • Équipe MLMS : Machine Learning, Modélisation & Simulation
  • Équipe CSTB : Systèmes Complexes, Bioinformatique Translationelle
  • Equipe GCE : Génie Civil et Energetique
  • Equipe SMH : Systèmes et Microsystèmes Hétérogènes
  • Equipe IMAGeS : Images, Modélisation, Apprentissage, Géométrie et Statistique

Les activités de recherche sont pilotées par un Conseil Scientifique présidé par le Professeur Michel de Mathelin, Directeur du laboratoire ICube et Premier Vice-Président, valorisation et relations avec le monde socio-économique de l’Université de Strasbourg. Ce Conseil Scientifique regroupe nos partenaires académiques, institutionnels et industriels afin de donner les orientations stratégiques du développement de la recherche.

 

La recherche à l’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe est menée en interaction permanente avec différents partenaires du territoire, tels que :

 

  • le laboratoire ICube,
  • l’Université de Strasbourg,
  • les pôles de compétitivité (le Pôle de compétitivité Fibres-Energivie, le Pôle Véhicule du Futur ou l’Institut Carnot Télécom & Société Numérique),
  • les entreprises de la région Grand-Est, dans la perspective de travaux de recherche.

 

Les équipes de recherche du Groupe ECAM s’associent régulièrement pour une mutualisation des savoirs et des contenus pédagogiques.

Des domaines de recherche variés

A la pointe de l'innovation

Mécanique des matériaux hétérogènes

Un matériau hétérogène est composé de différents types de constituants. La mécanique de matériaux hétérogènes sert à caractériser les propriétés de chaque constituant dans le comportement effectif du matériau final. Les domaines d’application sont nombreux comme l’automobile, l’aérospatial, le médical…

 

Projets 

 

Etude des matériaux composites devant assurer l’absorption de l’énergie de déformation lors d’un choc

L’objectif de ce sujet de recherche est de déterminer les propriétés d’un matériau pour qu’il puisse se déformer correctement pour absorber l’énergie de déformation lors d’un choc et ne pas la transmettre aux utilisateurs d’un véhicule. Pour cela, la microstructure du matériau est analysée ainsi que ses constituants, ses phases, son orientation et ses propriétés.

 

Ostéotomie tibiale de Valgisation

Des individus naissent avec les jambes arquées, appelées par les médecins « jambes cow-boy ». C’est une malformation, un désaxement de l’os du genou. Le poids du corps ne repose plus correctement sur l’axe du genou, ce qui peut engendrer de fortes douleurs et de l’arthrose. Une intervention chirurgicale peut s’avérer nécessaire. Le chirurgien incise le tibia, fait la correction angulaire et insère un substitut osseux, qu’il vient serrer et consolider avec des vis en titane. Il s’avère que dans 20% des cas, cette opération échoue suite à une fissuration de la charnière. La charnière est fondamentale dans la régénération et le processus de consolidation de l’os. Ce projet de recherche consiste, grâce aux outils de la mécanique de la rupture, à analyser et à prédire numériquement l’évolution de la propagation de la fissure dans la charnière.

 

Wiyao Azoti

Enseignant-Chercheur 

Equipe ICube : Matériaux multi-échelles et Biomécanique (MMB)

Ingénieur en Génie Mécanique. Docteur en Sciences des Matériaux.

Energie solaire appliquée aux bâtiments

Ce domaine de recherche consiste à modéliser des capteurs solaires afin de les optimiser. Les modèles permettent de prendre en compte tous les transferts thermiques et paramètres d’influence. Ensuite, des algorithmes d’optimisation sont utilisés pour obtenir les caractéristiques idéales des panneaux solaires en fonction des objectifs : maximiser la production du panneau sur une saison ou sur une année, coupler la production à un autre système énergétique, s’adapter à la situation géographique, etc.

 

Projet 

 

CapSol-PV/T

L’objectif est de mettre en place une plateforme pour caractériser les capteurs solaires hybrides (photovoltaïque – thermique / hybride). Elle permet ainsi la validation expérimentale des résultats issus d’optimisations numériques.

Appliquée aux bâtiments, cette solution résidentielle produit simultanément de l’énergie électrique et de l’énergie thermique. Dans un futur proche, ce projet permettra également la conception et la validation expérimentale de nouvelles technologies solaires hybrides.

 

Sébastien Mey-Cloutier

Enseignant-Chercheur 

Equipe : Génie Civil et Energétique (GCE)

Ingénieur en Génie Energétique. Docteur en Physique des Transferts Thermiques.

Interaction lumière matière - procédé d'usinage laser

Les domaines d’application de l’interaction lumière matière sont nombreux comme l’étude des propriétés optiques, le développement d’instrumentation photonique et le développement des procédés d’usinage laser. Pour ce dernier, des travaux de recherche sont menés pour adapter et optimiser les techniques de soudure par laser à impulsions ultra-courtes et le frittage par laser continu.

 

Projet

 

Développement d’un procédé de fabrication additive par Selected Laser Melting de simulant de poussière lunaire

Objectif Lune ! Mais avant de pouvoir vivre sur la Lune, il faut concevoir des habitats en optimisant l’utilisation des ressources déjà présentes sur place, comme notamment la poussière lunaire appelée la régolithe. Ce projet de recherche porte sur le développement d’un procédé de frittage laser d’un simulant de poussière lunaire pour réaliser des briques de construction. Ces briques seront des protections d’habitat lunaire qui pourront être déployées et protéger ainsi des rayonnements, des micrométéorites et des variations de températures.

 

Grégoire Chabrol

Enseignant-Chercheur et Directeur de la Recherche

Equipe ICube : Instrumentation et Procédés Photoniques (IPP)

Docteur en photonique

Imagerie – réseaux de neurones

Les réseaux de neurones sont utilisés dans plusieurs domaines d’application comme le traitement et l’analyse de l’image et la modélisation géométrique.

 

Projets

 

Modélisation géométrique par croquis

L’objectif de ce projet de recherche est de créer un système automatique qui permette de générer des modèles 3D à partir d’un dessin 2D. Pour cela, plusieurs méthodes ont été mises en place. Celle produisant les meilleurs résultats consiste à réexprimer le problème de modélisation 3D sous la forme d’un problème d’optimisation quadratique soumis à des contraintes dont la résolution correspondra à l’objet 3D souhaité par l’utilisateur.

 

Modélisation comportementale d’une imprimante 3D

Ce travail de recherche a pour objectif de mettre en place un processus d’analyse préventive visant à détecter automatiquement des anomalies pouvant survenir au cours d’impression 3D. Pour ce faire, des caméras sont utilisées pour surveiller l’impression en direct ainsi que des capteurs environnementaux. Ces derniers vont fournir un ensemble de données qui seront traitées à l’aide de l’Intelligence Artificielle.

 

Cédric Bonbenrieth

Enseignant-Chercheur

Equipe ICube : Machine Learning, Modélisation & Simulation (MLMS)

Docteur en Informatique

Biomécanique

« La biomécanique est l’exploration des propriétés mécaniques des organismes vivants ainsi que l’analyse des principes de l’ingénierie faisant fonctionner les systèmes biologiques. »

 

Projet

 

Développement et caractérisation de prothèse de poignet instrumentée 

Ce projet a pour but de valider le concept d’iso-élasticité pour les prothèses de poignet. Ces prothèses ont la particularité d’être plus souple que les prothèses traditionnelles. Par la suite, un modèle numérique plus précis sera développé à partir de scan d’avant-bras. La reconstruction d’images va permettre d’obtenir une géométrie quasiment réelle d’un radius et d’une prothèse de poignet. Parallèlement à cela, un dispositif expérimental sera développé dans lequel seront positionnés la prothèse et un os, artificiel ou non, pour réaliser des essais et valider la simulation numérique. A terme, cela va permettre de développer une prothèse avec des capteurs et obtenir un suivi local de certaines informations en particulier l’interface os-prothèse.

 

Samuel Berthe

Doctorant

Equipe ICube : Matériaux multi-échelles et Biomécanique (MMB)

Ingénieur en Génie Mécanique

Mécanique des structures

Il existe plusieurs domaines d’application à la mécanique des structures comme par exemple :

1/ Simulation élément fini des structures mécaniques (structures métalliques et tissus biologiques)

Il est question de déterminer le comportement mécanique des structures en utilisant des logiciels de simulation, moins coûteux que des essais expérimentaux. Cependant pour certains problèmes mécaniques, le comportement ne peut être étudié avec les logiciels existants, il est alors nécessaire de développer des codes propres de résolution en utilisant des langages de programmation.

 

2/ Amortissement et contrôle des vibrations des structures

Les vibrations qui apparaissent sur les structures embarquées comme les machines tournantes, sont sources de bruit, d’usures des pièces et de ruptures. L’objectif de ce travail de recherche est de développer des dispositifs d’amortissement permettant de réduire l’amplitude des vibrations en intégrant des matériaux intelligents multifonctionnels (viscoélastiques, piézoélectriques, électrorhéologiques ou magnéto-rhéologiques.)

 

Projets 

 

Développement d’un code générique de calcul des propriétés vibratoires des composites 3 couches : application aux pare-brises automobiles

En général, un pare-brise automobile est constitué de 3 couches ; 2 couches élastiques en verre et une couche centrale en polymère viscoélastique. La couche viscoélastique a pour fonction d’apporter l’amortissement à la structure. Pour les industriels, il est important de bien sélectionner les matériaux amortissants. L’objectif de ce projet est de proposer aux industriels un outil numérique qui permet de simuler le comportement du pare-brise en vibration pour déterminer parmi les matériaux utilisables, lequel offre un amortissement optimum. Cet outil numérique prend en données d’entrée les dimensions du pare-brise et les caractéristiques mécaniques des couches constitutives. Le calcul va déterminer la fréquence de résonance ainsi que les facteurs d’amortissement.

 

Modélisation élément fini 2D de la propagation d’ondes de cisaillement dans les tissus biologiques

Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre de l’élastographie par résonance magnétique qui est une technique de palpation virtuelle utilisée dans le milieu médical. En général lorsqu’un tissu biologique comporte une pathologie (par exemple une tumeur), on cherche à localiser son emplacement. Pour cela, on procède à la propagation d’ondes de cisaillement dans l’organe en utilisant un excitateur électrodynamique. Les ondes propagées sont mesurées par imagerie par résonance magnétique. Les propriétés mécaniques d’un tissu sain étant différentes de celles d’un tissu avarié, il est alors possible de localiser la tumeur par la mesure des ondes. La propagation d’une onde dans un milieu représente un champ de déplacement qui dépend des propriétés mécaniques du milieu et peut être reconstruit par un modèle numérique.

 

Conception et simulation d’un porte-outil à absorbeur dynamique intégrant un fluide magnétorhéologique

Les vibrations qui apparaissent lors des opérations d’usinage proviennent du passage répétitif des arêtes coupantes de l’outil sur la pièce. Ces vibrations peuvent provoquer l’usure des plaquettes, la non-conformité des pièces et des mauvais états de surface. Pour palier à cette problématique, il existe des porte-outils intégrant des absorbeurs dynamiques. Ces porte-outils comprennent une masselotte en leur sein et logée dans des joints. L’énergie de vibration du porte-outil est alors transférée à la masselotte qui la dissipe par chaleur dans les joints. Les joints du porte-outil s’usent régulièrement et cela dérègle le dispositif. Pour régler le niveau d’amortissement, un fluide magnétorhéologique est utilisé pour remplacer les joints. La viscosité de ce fluide va pouvoir être contrôlée grâce à un champ magnétique. L’objectif de ce projet de recherche est de concevoir et d’analyser le comportement  dynamique d’une barre de tournage « semi-active » intégrant le fluide magnétorhéologique en vue d’établir ses performances antivibratoires et son domaine d’efficacité.

 

Marcelin Bilasse

Enseignant-Chercheur

Equipe ICube : Matériaux multi-échelles et Biomécanique (MMB)

Docteur en Mécanique et Energétique

Traitement d’image avec l’Intelligence Artificielle (IA)

Le traitement d’image permet de classifier des images par une analyse des informations présentes dessus. Par exemple, cela permet de classifier des images avec des objets à détecter avec d’autres images sans objet. Une segmentation est ensuite réalisée par Intelligence Artificielle (IA) pour extraire les caractéristiques photométriques et géométriques et pour détecter les objets.

 

Projet

 

Détection des objets fins dans les images

L’objectif de ce projet est de pouvoir détecter automatiquement et avec précision les fissures sur les routes grâce au traitement des images. La perspective de ces travaux est d’appliquer l’Intelligence Artificielle pour la détection des fissures sur tous les types de surface grâce à des algorithmes. Il sera possible pour les voitures intelligentes de détecter les fissures sur les chaussées et éviter les accidents.

 

Rabih Ahmaz

Enseignant-Chercheur

Equipe ICube : Systèmes complexes et bioinformatique translationelle (CSTB)

Ingénieur Télécommunication, Signaux et Circuits. Docteur en Traitement d’Images

Technologie Blockchain

La blockchain est une technologie de stockage et de transmission d’informations, transparente, sécurisée, et fonctionnant sans organe central de contrôle. La technologie Blockchain fait aujourd’hui face à une limite de vitesse et de stockage de données de masse sur les réseaux de blockchain.

 

Projet 

 

Sauvegarde des fichiers sur un réseau de blockchain

Sur un réseau blockchain, la problématique est de sauvegarder des données en masse. Aujourd’hui la technologie blockchain peut sauvegarder 22mo en 14 secondes. Pour sauvegarder une image de 350mo cela prend 4 minutes. L’objectif de ce projet est d’améliorer cette technologie au fur et à mesure et d’appliquer cette amélioration sur une blockchain qui regroupe des centres médicaux. Ce projet a pour mission d’augmenter l’interopérabilité entre les médecins, les centres médicaux et les laboratoires avec un système de sauvegarde de données décentralisé et sécurisé. Des objets connectés comme des montres peuvent progressivement être ajoutés dans le système.

 

Rabih Ahmaz

Enseignant-Chercheur

Equipe ICube : Systèmes complexes et bioinformatique translationelle (CSTB)

Ingénieur Télécommunication, Signaux et Circuits. Docteur en Traitement d’Images

Nous avons réussi à développer une activité de recherche propre à l'école et son écosystème local pour répondre aujourd'hui aux challenges que les entreprises rencontreront demain. La recherche au sein de l’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe se construit autour des compétences apportées par chacun de nos enseignants-chercheurs. Notre ambition est de pouvoir explorer et pousser plus loin les connaissances actuelles, de les appliquer et les transmettre. 

Grégoire Chabrol - Directeur de la Recherche