Energy
Expertise

The Energy department

System efficiency, the use of resources, and environmental impact are all major issues in energy management and control.

Assisting our partners

Moving towards the energy transition

The energy transition is a key area, both in terms of means of production with renewable energies, and in terms of consumption packages.

 

The integration of alternative energies also requires the implementation of new “Smart Grid” networks allowing for improved distribution of production, transformation, conversion and consumption.

 

We support our partner companies at various levels in their energy transition. The “Energy” technical department enables them to design and test their products and installations under real conditions by thinking on a global scale. We are specialised in providing advice on the design and construction of positive energy buildings that use natural energy sources.

 

We implement technical and technological solutions that address the issues of customised use and performance while controlling costs and reducing environmental impacts.

Areas of expertise

At ECAM Strasbourg-Europe, our teams work on two aspects of energy:

  • heat transfer, thermodynamics and fluid mechanics, which are used to analyse and model energy systems,
  • the energy-related aspects of processes, applied to industrial fields in order to diagnose and better understand energy requirements and consumption.

Vocational training

ECAM Strasbourg-Europe can assist and advise companies in controlling energy needs and losses in industrial processes by providing training in the following areas:

  • identifying and quantifying energy needs,
  • reducing energy consumption (water, air, heat, cooling, etc.),
  • loss recovery, energy integration, performance optimisation,
  • building information modelling using Revit or Archiwizard.

Research subjects

Our research teams work on the development of renewable energies: hydraulic sources, solar energies (photovoltaic and thermal), as well as mixed photovoltaic/thermal (PVT), wind power, geothermal energy, biomass and hydrogen.

Projects

PV.carac: characterisation of photovoltaic modules

This project, developed jointly by our teaching and student teams, aims to characterise photovoltaic modules through electrical and thermal measurements in order to model the energy behaviour of solar panels. This experimental station allows tests to be conducted, for the purpose of improving and optimising the yield of photovoltaic cells.

 

CapSol-PV/T: characterisation of hybrid solar panels

This future experimental department developed in collaboration with the ICube laboratory, will be used to optimise hybrid solar panels. Applied to buildings, this residential solution simultaneously produces electrical energy and thermal energy (domestic hot water, heating). In the near future, this project will also enable the design and experimental validation of new hybrid solar technologies.

As a Doctor of Engineering in the field of renewable energy, I am specialised in thermoelectricity. Whatever the project idea, I assist companies in the design and production of positive energy buildings.

Gabriel Salman - Head of the Energy department

I have a PhD in Energy Engineering and I specialise in the use of solar energy to produce electricity. At ECAM Strasbourg-Europe, my role is to assist companies and research in the energy transition in order to develop new technologies using renewable energy.

Sébastien May-Cloutier - Teacher - Energy researcher

Expertise
Energie

Plateau Energie

L’efficacité des systèmes, l’utilisation des ressources et les impacts environnementaux sont autant d’enjeux majeurs dans la gestion et la maîtrise de l’énergie.

Accompagnement de nos partenaires

Vers la transition énergétique

La transition énergétique est un domaine clé, tant au niveau des moyens de production avec les énergies renouvelables, que des ensembles de consommations.

 

L’intégration des énergies alternatives demande également la mise en place de nouveaux réseaux « Smart Grid » permettant une meilleure distribution des productions, des transformations, des conversions et des consommations.

 

Nous accompagnons nos entreprises partenaires à différents niveaux dans leur transition énergétique. Le plateau technique « Energie » permet de concevoir et tester leurs produits et installations en conditions réelles en menant une réflexion d’échelle globale. Nous sommes spécialisés dans le conseil pour la conception et la construction de bâtiments à énergie positive qui exploitent les sources naturelles d’énergie.

 

Nous mettons en œuvre des solutions techniques et technologiques qui répondent aux problématiques d’utilisation personnalisable et de rendement en maitrisant les coûts et en réduisant les impacts environnementaux.

Domaines d'expertise

Au sein de l’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe, nos équipes travaillent sur deux aspects de l’énergie :

  • les transferts thermiques, la thermodynamique et la mécanique des fluides qui permettent l’analyse et la modélisation des systèmes énergétiques,
  • les aspects énergétiques des procédés, appliqués aux domaines de l’industrie afin de diagnostiquer et mieux appréhender les besoins et consommations énergétiques.

Formation professionnelle

L’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe peut accompagner et conseiller les entreprises dans la maîtrise des besoins et pertes énergétiques dans les procédés industriels en les formant à :

  • l’identification et quantification des besoins énergétiques,
  • la réduction des consommations d’énergies (eau, air, chaleur, refroidissement, etc.),
  • la valorisation des pertes, l’intégration énergétique, l’optimisation des performances,
  • la modélisation des bâtiments en maquette BIM sur Revit ou Archiwizard.

Thèmes de recherche

Nos équipes de recherche travaillent sur la valorisation des énergies renouvelables : sources hydrauliques, énergies solaires  (photovoltaïque et thermique), et aussi le mixte photovoltaïque/thermique (PVT), éolien, géothermie, biomasse et hydrogène.

Projets

PV.carac : caractérisation de modules photovoltaïques

Ce projet, développé conjointement par nos équipes enseignantes et étudiantes, a pour objectif de caractériser des modules photovoltaïques par des mesures électriques et thermiques, afin de modéliser le comportement énergétique des panneaux solaires. Cette station expérimentale permet d’effectuer des tests pour améliorer et optimiser le rendement des cellules photovoltaïques.

 

CapSol-PV/T : caractérisation des panneaux solaires hybrides

Cette future plateforme expérimentale, développée en collaboration avec le laboratoire ICube, sera utilisée dans le cadre de l’optimisation des panneaux solaires hybrides. Appliquée aux bâtiments, cette solution résidentielle produit simultanément de l’énergie électrique et de l’énergie thermique (eau chaude sanitaire, chauffage). Dans un futur proche, ce projet permettra également la conception et la validation expérimentale de nouvelles technologies solaires hybrides.

Docteur ingénieur dans le domaine des énergies renouvelables, je suis spécialisé en thermo-électricité. Quelle que soit l'idée du projet, j'accompagne les entreprises dans la conception et la production de bâtiments à énergie positive.

Gabriel Salman - Responsable du plateau Energie

Docteur ingénieur en Génie Energétique, je suis spécialisé dans la valorisation de l’énergie solaire pour la production d’électricité. A l’ECAM Strasbourg-Europe, mon rôle est d’accompagner les entreprises et la recherche dans la transition énergétique pour développer de nouvelles technologies utilisant les énergies renouvelables.

Sébastien Mey-Cloutier - Enseignant-Chercheur en Energie

Plateaux techniques de l'ECAM Strasbourg-Europe